Interactive Fiction Schedule 17

All READING/PLAYING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE CLASS UNLESS THE SCHEDULE INDICATES OTHERWISE. DOWNLOAD GAMES IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN! Module One: Hamlet on the Holodeck Mon Aug 28  – introduction of syllabus and selves Wed Aug 30  –

  • Read: Chapter One – Notes
  • Project Documentation: Luc Courchesne (at home)
    • explore/installations/landscape 1, 1997 (read, watch 17 min video)

Mon Sept 4 – LABOR DAY Wed Sept 6 –

  • Read: Chapter Two. Presenters: Chris, Greg, Rachel
  • Play: Her Story by Sam Barlow  

Mon Sept 11

  • Read: Chapter Three, AI, Eliza. Presenters: Adam, Erica, Dylan
  • Documentation Michael Mateas on Serious Games with meanginful social content

*** BRING PACK OF INDEX CARDS ** Wed Sept 13 – Eliza workshop, AI  (room 242)

Mon Sept 18

Wed Sept 20-

  • Read: Chapter 5, Agency, constructivism, Presenters: Austin, Robert, Matt, Aaron
  • Play: Save the Date by Chris (need to replay often)
  • Play Deviant by Donna Leishman
  • Play Underbelly by Christine Wilk

Mon Sept 25 – At home assignment 1. Read : Interactive Story Structures at 2. Creative Exercise – DO the exercise here – there is no wrong way to do it! It’s an exercise to get you thinking! You may think about using the story structure ideas or not. Wed Sept 27 

  • Read: Chapter 6, Transformation, Presenters: Charles, Feiyan, Christina, Nate?
  • WATCH: Lizzie Bennet Diaries by Hank Green and Bernie Su

Mon Oct 2

Module Two: Tools during this module we will also be browsing through the interactive fiction resources, you will choose and extensively play one of the projects and report to the class on it during the third module. Homework during this time is threefold:

  • get up to speed with your tech of choice
  • plan your creative project on paper
  • choose and start playing a work of interactive fiction

Wed Oct 4 – HTML Discussion of at home assignment and Module Two plans Starter Page – hello world html5 and css from the beginning HTML5 and css tutorials and documentation – html, & video javascript tool Mon Oct 9 (room 242?)

  Wed Oct 11 – (room 242)

Mon Oct 16 – (room 242)

Wed Oct 18 (room 242)

Module Three: Presentations and Workshops: Presentations

  • Preparation – play project, talk to someone else who has played the project
  • Powerpoint, prezi, html
    • Overview of the project
    • Demonstration of project – 2 mins max)
    • Analysis of project
      • themes, ideas, author(s) intentions
      • “game” mechanics & how they supported the theme
      • liked/did not like – and WHY
    • Conclusion

Mon Oct 23 – Final Project Proposal Round Up – bring planning documents Tech Q and As

Wed Oct 25 – Student Presentations – Alyssa (Firewatch), Matt D (Stanley Parable), Dylan (We made ourselves over/Blast Theory)

Mon Oct 30 – Student Presentations – Austin (Inkubus), Brittany (Daniel Howe), Erica (Firewatch)

Wed Nov 1 – Student Presentations – Aaron (Underbelly), Rachel (Firewatch), Christina (Is it Time/Jaime Fraina)

Mon Nov 6 – Student Presentations – Greg (Passage),  Kevin (Firewatch), Nate (Stanley Parable)

Wed Nov 8 (room 242)

  •  TEST PLAYING first version of PROJECTS

Mon Nov 13 – TBA

Wed Nov 15 – Student Presentations -Alex (The Beginners Guide),  Charles (Braid),  Matt S (Firewatch)

Mon Nov 20 – Student Presentations – Feiyan (Her Story), Chris (Firewatch), Robert (Save the Date)

Wed Nov 22 – FALL RECESS

Mon Nov 27 – Student Presentations – Adam (Deviant) , Shane (Arteroids) , Zak (Games for Change/Lyla and the Shadow of the Wall)

Wed Nov 28 – Aleph Null by Jim Andrews

Mon Dec 4 – Demos and Critiques – (room 242)

Wed Dec 6 – Demos and Critiques – (room 242)